top of page

Cabot’s Tyler Kurz Honored for Excellence

By National Wrestling Hall of Fame

STILLWATER, Okla. – In celebration of World Wrestling Month, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum has selected its 2013 state and regional winners of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award.

Created in honor of Schultz, an Olympic and world champion, the High School Excellence Award is based on excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship and community service. Forty-nine seniors from those states that sponsor high school state wrestling championships have been chosen for the honor as part of the Hall of Fame’s Educational Outreach Program.

The 2013 Winners by State, Name and School are:

Alabama, Jordan Simpson, Oxford High School

Alaska, Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski High School

Arizona, Dalton Brady, Chandler High School

Arkansas, Tyler Kurz, Cabot High School

California, Isaiah Martinez, Lemoore High School

Colorado, Garet Krohn, Arvada High School

Connecticut, Elliot Antler, Xavier High School

Delaware, Alvontae Drummond, Milford High School

Florida, Kevin Norstrem, Brandon High School

Georgia, Tyler Askey, Northgate High School

Hawaii, Dane Pestano, Kamehameha-Kapalama High School

Idaho, Jared Johnshoy, Melba Jr/Sr High School

Illinois, Ricky Robertson, Carl Sandburg High School

Indiana, Mitch Sliga, Fishers High School

Iowa, Brandon Sorensen, Denver High School

Kansas, Nathan Butler, Leavenworth High School

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page